LibGuides: Graphic Design: Articles

Key Databases

HINT: You can search in more than one EBSCOhost database at a time by clicking the "Choose Databases >>" link above the search bar.

iPad users: Choose EBSCO Mobile, then select the database in which you want to search.

Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive art database featuring full-text articles from more than 300 periodicals. Topics covered include fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture.
Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new window
A good general-purpose database that includes both scholarly and popular material covering virtually all subject areas. Some items are available in full text and others are indexed only. Utilize the Subject Terms button in the top bar for more precise results.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This database contains information in a variety of disciplines and includes many high-quality art and music journals. JSTOR contains content dating farther back than what is available in many of our other online resources. Most content will be available in full-text access.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
This database "provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media." Includes full text for over 450 journals and indexes more than 770.

Google Scholar
Search for scholarly materials online using the friendly Google search box. Remember that many items may be available through Reeves; check Journal Finder to find out if we subscribe (see the Video Tutorials tab). Interlibrary loan is available for articles not in our holdings.

Database searching tips

Your username and password are the same ones you use to log in to Griffin Gate or your SHU email. If you are having login problems, please contact the Helpdesk (helpdesk@setonhill.edu or 724-830-1805).

How to search:

In EBSCOhost databases, clicking the "Peer Reviewed" box will limit your search to "scholarly" or "academic" articles.
Type a few keywords in the "Find" box (see the "Browse & Gather" video on the 'How-To' Tutorials tab for more help picking good searching words).
Use the narrowing options on the right and left to get more specific (limit the date range, etc.).

Finding the article itself (an abstract is a summary, not a source!):

Many articles are in full text; PDF format is best.
In EBSCOhost, "Display more details about this journal" links mean that we have a subscription, but not through EBSCO. Click the link for more information.
If we do not have full-text access to an article you need, check Journal Finder (see the 'How-To' Tutorials tab) to see if we subscribe in print or a different database. If we don't have a subscription, you may request the article through interlibrary loan.

Journals in Print

In addition to our online collections, we offer key graphic design and visual arts journals in print. The following titles are available for all listed years in our print journal collection, located in the O'Hara Room on the ground floor of the Learning Commons:

Artforum 1999-2015

ARTnews 2000-May 2015

CMYK 2002-2013

Communication Arts 2000-2015

Graphic Design, USA 2007-2015

Graphis 1971-1980, 1988-2005

HOW 2001-2014

ID: Magazine of International Design 1998-2010

Letter Arts Review 1995-2004

Reeves Memorial Library

Graphic Design

Key Databases

Database searching tips

Journals in Print

How to Request an Interlibrary Loan