Art Therapy (Undergraduate)

HINT: You can search in more than one EBSCOhost database at a time by clicking the "Choose Databases >>" link above the search bar.

iPad users: Choose EBSCO Mobile, then select the database in which you want to search.

Your username and password are the same ones you use to log in to Griffin Gate or your SHU email. If you are having login problems, please contact the Helpdesk (helpdesk@setonhill.edu or 724-830-1805).

How to search:

• In EBSCOhost databases, clicking the "Peer Reviewed" box will limit your search to "scholarly" or "academic" articles.
• Type a few keywords in the "Find" box (see the "Browse & Gather" video on the 'How-To' Tutorials tab for more help picking good searching words).
• Use the narrowing options on the right and left to get more specific (limit the date range, etc.).

Finding the article itself (an abstract is a summary, not a source!):

• Many articles are in full text; PDF format is best.
• In EBSCOhost, "Display more details about this journal" links mean that we have a subscription, but not through EBSCO. Click the link for more information.
• If we do not have full-text access to an article you need, check Journal Finder (see the 'How-To' Tutorials tab) to see if we subscribe in print or a different database. If we don't have a subscription, you may request the article through interlibrary loan.

To find a specific journal, such as The Arts in Psychotherapy, search for it in our Full Text Finder tool. Full Text Finder will link you to the appropriate database or will tell you where to find it if it is in the print periodicals collection downstairs in the Learning Commons.

In addition to our online collections, we offer key art therapy journals in print.  The following titles are available for all listed years in our print journal collection, located in the O'Hara Room on the ground floor of the Learning Commons:

American Journal of Art Therapy  1974-1989 (1990-2002 available electronically)

Art Therapy: Journal of the American Art Therapy Association  1986-1996 (1983-present available electronically)

Arts in Psychotherapy  1979-1994 (1995-present available electronically)