Literary Theory and Criticism - English - Literature - LibGuides at Seton Hill University

Key Databases

Start at the top of the funnel: Books

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
The library's ebook collection (also searchable via the library's regular catalog, HillCat).

Narrower focus: Articles

Remember that you are unlikely to find many articles discussing both your theory, imagery, or theme of interest AND the work(s) you are examining. Try searching for your theory/imagery/concept and the author's name (or perhaps a group of writers or a movement with which the author was affiliated). Your own criticism can focus on similarities or differences that these other sources bring to your attention.

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books, scholarly websites, and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920's and contains over 2.3 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers.
Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new window
A good general-purpose database that includes both scholarly and popular material covering virtually all subject areas. Some items are available in full text and others are indexed only. Utilize the Subject Terms button in the top bar for more precise results.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This database contains information in a variety of disciplines and includes many high-quality art and music journals. JSTOR contains content dating farther back than what is available in many of our other online resources. Most content will be available in full-text access.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
This database "provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media." Includes full text for over 450 journals and indexes more than 770.
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance This link opens in a new window
"The definitive research tool for the study of theatre and the performing arts...[contains] over 60,000 journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries."

Websites

Dictionary of the History of Ideas
University of Virginia Library
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy - Literary Criticism
Library of Congress - Literatures in English: Literary Criticism
Annotated List of Reference Websites
Philosophical Dictionary
This is a concise guide to technical terms and personal names often encountered in the study of philosophy.
Voice of the Shuttle - Literary Theory
VoS is woven by Alan Liu of the U. California, Santa Barbara, English Department with a team of department graduate students and others.

Reeves Memorial Library

English - Literature

Key Databases

Start at the top of the funnel: Books

Narrower focus: Articles

Websites

Relevant Journals