Art History

HINT: You can search in more than one EBSCOhost database at a time by clicking the "Choose Databases >>" link above the search bar.

iPad users: Choose EBSCO Mobile, then select the database in which you want to search.

Your username and password are the same ones you use to log in to Griffin Gate or your SHU email. If you are having login problems, please contact the Helpdesk (helpdesk@setonhill.edu or 724-830-1805).

How to search:

• In EBSCOhost databases, clicking the "Peer Reviewed" box will limit your search to "scholarly" or "academic" articles.
• Type a few keywords in the "Find" box (see the "Browse & Gather" video on the 'How-To' Tutorials tab for more help picking good searching words).
• Use the narrowing options on the right and left to get more specific (limit the date range, etc.).

Finding the article itself (an abstract is a summary, not a source!):

• Many articles are in full text; PDF format is best.
• In EBSCOhost, "Display more details about this journal" links mean that we have a subscription, but not through EBSCO. Click the link for more information.
• If we do not have full-text access to an article you need, check Journal Finder (see the 'How-To' Tutorials tab) to see if we subscribe in print or a different database. If we don't have a subscription, you may request the article through interlibrary loan.

In addition to our online collections, we offer key art journals in print.  The following titles are available for all listed years in our print journal collection, located in the O'Hara Room on the ground floor of the Learning Commons:

Artforum  2000-2015

ARTnews  2000-May 2015

Graphis  1971-1980, 1988-2005

Art Index is a serial index to articles from an extensive range of art-related periodicals.  Like an index found in the back of a book, each volume of Art Index is arranged alphabetically, with users being able to search by either subject or author.  Journal titles in each entry are abbreviated, and users can refer to the key at the beginning of the volume to find the full title.  Art Index can be used to look up citations for articles on a given topic, and those articles can then be found via the library's databases or print periodicals, or through interlibrary loan if a particular journal is not in the library's collection.  Reeves Memorial Library holds every volume of Art Index from 1968-2011, available in the O'Hara Room on the lower level of the Learning Commons.

Finding images that you are permitted to use for your work is actually pretty easy. Many photographers and artists make their images available under a Creative Commons license and allow them to be used freely. There are different kinds of Creative Commons licenses, so remember:

• Make sure that the image is licensed for the type of use you intend
• Always give attribution, even if the image is in the public doman (a slide at the end of a presentation or an entry in the References list of a written work is usually sufficient)

For more information on what the different usage rights designations mean, consult the link below: