LibGuides: Theatre: Articles

Key Databases

HINT: You can search in more than one EBSCOhost database at a time by clicking the "Choose Databases" link above the search bar.

Smartphone users: Choose EBSCO Mobile, then select the database in which you want to search.

International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance This link opens in a new window
"The definitive research tool for the study of theatre and the performing arts...[contains] over 60,000 journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries."
Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new window
A good general-purpose database that includes both scholarly and popular material covering virtually all subject areas. Some items are available in full text and others are indexed only. Utilize the Subject Terms button in the top bar for more precise results.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This database contains information in a variety of disciplines and includes many high-quality art and music journals. JSTOR contains content dating farther back than what is available in many of our other online resources. Most content will be available in full-text access.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
This database indexes critical materials on modern literature and language. While its content is primarily literary, it does list some articles focusing on performance.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
This database includes full-text access to a number of newspapers that can provide a source of reviews to current and past theatrical productions.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
This database contains over 860 full-text newspapers, as well as television and radio news transcripts, and is a great source of news articles and reviews about individual dramatic productions, performances, performers, and other artists.
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
This site allows you to cross-search multiple online music reference resources in one location. The package includes Grove Music Online, which features over 50,000 signed articles and 30,000 biographies, as well as entries from two other resources, The Oxford Companion to Music and the Oxford Dictionary of Music. You can browse your search results by source and specific era or subject category, or use the site's helpful timelines and subject guides to navigate the content.
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
This streaming music service offers a comprehensive collection of classical music, with over 1.4 million tracks covering classical, jazz, world, folk, opera, musical theater, and even pop and rock. Users can search and select music by composer, artist, period, year of composition, instrument or genre.
New Play Exchange This link opens in a new window
The world's largest digital library of playscripts by living writers.

Google Scholar
Search for scholarly materials online using the friendly Google search box. Many articles may be available through Reeves; check Full Text Finder to find out if we subscribe. Interlibrary loan is available for items not in our holdings.

Database Searching Tips

Your username and password are the same ones you use to log in to MySHU. If you are having login problems, please contact the Solution Center (helpdesk@setonhill.edu or 724-830-1805).

How to search:

In EBSCOhost databases, clicking the "Peer Reviewed" box will limit your search to "scholarly" or "academic" articles.
Type your keyword(s) in the Search box (you can use the suggested search terms that appear beneath the search box to help narrow your search).
Use the limiter options on the left to get more specific (limit the date range, source type, etc.).

Finding the article itself (an abstract is a summary, not a source!):

Many articles are in full text; PDF format is best.
If we do not have full-text access to an article you need, check Journal Finder (see the 'How-To' Tutorials tab) to see if we subscribe in print or a different database. If we don't have a subscription, you may request the article through interlibrary loan.

Journals in Print

In addition to our online collections, we offer key theatre journals in print. The following titles are available for all listed years in our print journal collection, located in the O'Hara Room on the ground floor of the Learning Commons:

Dramatics 1999-2015

Mime Journal 1974-2005

Modern Drama 1990-2009

Shakespeare Quarterly 1991-2000

T D & T 1990-2000

Reeves Memorial Library

Theatre

Key Databases

Database Searching Tips

Journals in Print

Online Journals

How to Request an Interlibrary Loan