Reviews from newspapers can be found by searching for the name of the show or performers in the EBSCO database Newspaper Source Plus, which provides full-text access to over 860 newspapers from around the globe.
In addition to Newspaper Source Plus, the EBSCO databases Academic Search Elite and International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text both allow you to limit your search to entertainment reviews, including reviews for plays, musical theatre, and dance performances. These reviews can be found using the following steps:
1. Log in to EBSCOhost from the Databases page on the library website.
2. At the Choose Databases page in EBSCOhost, select Academic Search Elite and International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text and click "Continue."
3. Click on "Advanced Search" beneath the search box on the main search page.
4. Scroll down to the "Special limiters" section of the Advanced Search page and choose "Entertainment Review" from the lists under "Document Type" for both of the databases, as shown in the image below.
5. If necessary, use the other limiters to narrow your search by publication date, publication type, language, etc.
6. Type the appropriate search terms (play title, performer or choreographer name, etc.) into the search box(es) and click the "Search" button.
LexisNexis Academic provides full text access to many newspapers dating back to the 1980s. You can search for theatre reviews from these newspapers by following the steps listed below:
1. Log in to LexisNexis Academic from the Databases page on the library website.
2. Click on "Advanced Options" beneath the search box on the main search page, then click the blue "Look Up Index Terms" link in the inset box that opens on the screen, as shown below:
3. A new box with the heading "Add Topics" will open up. Type "theater reviews" into the search box and click the red "Find" button. You will see two results for this search:
4. Check the box next to either result, and both will automatically be selected. Then click the red "Ok-Add to Search" button at the bottom of the box.
5. The "Add Topics" box will disappear, and "Theater Reviews" will show up under "Index Terms" in the "Advanced Options" box. To limit your search to newspapers, make sure that only "Newspapers" is checked under "Content Type."
6. At this point, you can limit your search further by source, if you are only interested in reviews from a specific publication, or you can limit by date range. When you are finished setting your search limitations, click the red "Apply" button at the bottom of the box, and the box will disappear.
7. Type the name of the play and any other appropriate search terms into the search box and click the "Search" button.
8. To find reviews of specific productions, you can use the options along the left side of the screen to further limit your search results to reviews from specific newspapers, or to reviews from a specific geographical area.