LibGuides: Forensic Science: Books

Print & Ebook Collections

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
The library's ebook collection (also searchable via the library's regular catalog, HillCat).
HillCat This link opens in a new window
Our library's catalog of print books and some ebooks. See searching tips below.
WorldCat Discovery This link opens in a new window
Discovery is a one-search tool that will find books, ebooks, DVDs, and articles from our collection AND beyond it. Some full text materials will also have a direct link in Discovery. Also use it to place interlibrary loan requests!

Tips for searching HillCat:

Try different keyword combinations
Experiment with the Advanced Search underneath the Search tab to combine ideas
Use the "Narrow your search" and "Related searches" sidebars to find similar items
Set the "Sort by" drop-down menu to "Publication date" to view the newer material at the top of the list
Ebooks will appear in your results list; to access the full book, click the "Web site" link next to the globe icon

Remember that you need to bring your SHU ID card to check out books from the library.

These books are "open-access," meaning that they have been made freely available to the public by the publisher.

NCBI Bookshelf - Genes and Disease
From the site: "Genes and Disease is a collection of articles that discuss genes and the diseases that they cause. These genetic disorders are organized by the parts of the body that they affect. As some diseases affect various body systems, they appear in more than one chapter. With each genetic disorder, the underlying mutation(s) is discussed, along with clinical features and links to key websites."

Tips for searching WorldCat:

WorldCat Discovery This link opens in a new window
Discovery is a one-search tool that will find books, ebooks, DVDs, and articles from our collection AND beyond it. Some full text materials will also have a direct link in Discovery. Also use it to place interlibrary loan requests!