LibGuides: Faith, Religion, & Society: Judaism

Online Resources

Jewish Encyclopedia
"This website contains the complete contents of the 12-volume Jewish Encyclopedia, which was originally published between 1901-1906."
Jewish Telegraphic Agency (JTA)
"JTA is the definitive, trusted global source of news, analysis and features on issues of Jewish interest and concern."
Jewish Virtual Library (JVL)
"The Jewish Virtual Library (JVL) is the most comprehensive online encyclopedia of Jewish history, politics and culture." This website provides a wide collection of research about news and information on Judaism.
Jewish Women's Archive (JWA)
"The Jewish Women’s Archive is a national organization dedicated to collecting and promoting the extraordinary stories of Jewish women."
YIVO Institute for Jewish Research
"...one of the world’s most important resources on Jewish life and history in Europe..."

Historical Dictionary of Judaism by Norman Solomon
ISBN: 9781442241428
Publication Date: 2015-02-01
An extensive dictionary that "has over 800 cross-referenced entries on important personalities in Jewish religious history..."
Judaism Today by Dan Cohn-Sherbok
ISBN: 9781441192523
Publication Date: 2010-04-23
The author provides foundational information, reviews important history, and then delves into modern day topics in Judaism.
Understanding Judaism by Jeremy Rosen
ISBN: 1903765285
Publication Date: 2003-10-30
"Rabbi Rosen presents a serious and concise overview of Jewish history, theology and practice from Judaism's biblical origins to the present day."

Jewish History and Thought by Menahem Mansoor
ISBN: 0881254045
Publication Date: 1992-01-01
This book focuses on Jewish history, from ancient times to modern day.
The Way of Torah by Jacob Neusner
ISBN: 0534516033
Publication Date: 2003-04-17
The author approaches Judaism from a broader perspective rather than using a certain approach. This book contains a helpful glossary and overview of topics such as the history of Judaism and Jewish texts.