LibGuides: News Sources and Evaluation: Reliable Sources

Sources

The following sources (mostly focusing on the United States, or heavily featuring American news) were chosen because of one or more of the following:

It is listed by a number of authorities as being credible and relatively free of bias.
It adheres to the Code of Ethics of the Society of Professional Journalists.
It provides its own statement of ethics and/or code of conduct.

For more about determining whether a news source is reliable, read this brief guide:

What Makes a Trustworthy News Source?

We welcome your suggestions for revisions and additions to this list.

BBC
From the U.K., but covers significant or interesting American and global news stories, as well.
C-SPAN
Live streams and recordings of American federal government proceedings
Christian Science Monitor
Non-religious, despite its name. We have full access through our Academic Search Elite, Newspaper Source Plus, and Nexis Uni databases.
The Economist
A British weekly news publication, The Economist also provides analysis.
The Guardian
A British daily newspaper with a reputation as a "newspaper of record" for the U.K. SHU has access to the regular edition in the Nexis Uni database.
National Public Radio
Though NPR stands for "National Public Radio," the news organization also provides print and video news.
New York Times
The NYT is an American "newspaper of record." SHU has a subscription to the regular NYT issues in the Nexis Uni database. Note that some pieces are website-only and our subscription does not give us access to them.
Reuters
One of the largest news agencies in the world, Reuters covers global news with an emphasis on stories from the Western hemisphere.
Wall Street Journal (website)
The WSJ is a daily, business-focused publication and is considered a U.S. "newspaper of record." SHU has a subscription in the Healthcare Administration Database (note that some website features are digital-only and will not appear in our database subscription, which is for the "traditional" edition).
The Washington Post
The WaPo is widely circulated in the Washington, D.C. area and is an American "newspaper of record."

Websites

Today's Front Pages
Today's front pages of large regional newspapers from around the United States. Each "front page" provides a link to the paper's website.
National Security Archive
Founded in 1985 by journalists and scholars to check rising government secrecy, the National Security Archive combines a unique range of functions: investigative journalism center, research institute on international affairs, library and archive of declassified U.S. documents ("the world's largest nongovernmental collection" according to the Los Angeles Times), leading non-profit user of the U.S. Freedom of Information Act, public interest law firm defending and expanding public access to government information, global advocate of open government, and indexer and publisher of former secrets.
VOA News - Voice of America
The Voice of America (VOA) is a dynamic international multimedia broadcaster with service in more than 40 languages. Serving an estimated weekly global audience of 236.8 million, VOA provides news, information, and cultural programming through the Internet, mobile and social media, radio, and television. VOA is funded by the U.S. Government through the Broadcasting Board of Governors.

News Digests

1440 News Digest
A free email news digest that strives "to be unbiased as humanly possible." Story summaries all link to full stories on external websites, which are all credible and are usually less-biased than most sources.