LibGuides: Addiction & Recovery: Home

Welcome

Start Here

Some specific resources and search tips are available by clicking on the navigation buttons. <--- Those are just to get you started!

The Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders, 5th ed : DSM-5 will give you the clinical diagnostic criteria for addiction(s).

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders DSM-5 by American Psychiatric Association Staff; Carolyn Kernberger
Call Number: r 616.89 D81 2013
ISBN: 9780890425541
Publication Date: 2013-05-22
This book is in our reference collection downstairs in the Reading Room.

The American Society of Addiction Medicine (ASAM) provides both a short and a long definition of addiction.

ASAM's Definition of Addiction
American Society of Addiction Medicine (ASAM)
Addictionary
A glossary of addiction-related terms; includes flags for potentially-stigmatizing language.

Articles and Books-- Where to Search

You will need to search directly in our library resources for your topic. Here are your "best bet" tools for addiction research in our collection.

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
DEFINITELY search here! Lots of good, current information about all kinds of addictions and therapies.
SAGE Premier This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to over 1,000 peer-reviewed journals covering a range of disciplines, including psychology, sociology, education, health sciences, communication, business & management, criminal justice, political science, economics, religious studies, engineering & materials science, language & cultural studies, mathematics, and more.
APA PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
This database from the American Psychological Association (APA) is a collection of full-text, peer-reviewed articles in the field of psychology.
Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new window
A good general-purpose database that includes both scholarly and popular material covering virtually all subject areas. Some items are available in full text and others are indexed only. Utilize the Subject Terms button in the top bar for more precise results.
SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window
Not just sports information! Full-text coverage of 550 sports & sports medicine journals. You will find information about both substance and process addictions here.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
From the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE contains a wealth of authoritative information about the health sciences and the health care system. Be aware that many of these will need to be accessed via interlibrary loan. Use the MeSH terms link (available in the Advanced Search options) for more precise results.
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
This database, also from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in behavioral science and mental health. Its coverage is much broader and goes farther back than PsycARTICLES, but expect to find little full-text availability in this database. Interlibrary loan will be necessary to obtain many of these sources.
HillCat This link opens in a new window
Our book catalog. Some ebooks will show up here, as well.