LibGuides: Advanced Dietetics: Articles

Key Library Databases

For advanced research, it is a good idea to search EBSCOhost databases individually instead of all at once. This allows you to use the subject/thesaurus/MeSH terms to find more precise results. See the "Research Techniques" tab for a refresher on how to use the controlled vocabulary indexes for the databases. Other databases work best if you use advanced keyword searching tricks (again, see the "Research Techniques" tab).

The best type of search strategy for each database is indicated at the end of the description.

Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new window
ASE is a good general-purpose database that includes both scholarly and popular material covering virtually all subject areas. Some items are available in full text and others are indexed only. Use the Subject Terms link (available in Advanced Search options) for more precise results and combine them with a phrase like "study or trial" to find primary material.
CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window
CINAHL is a comprehensive source for nursing & allied health journals, many of which are available in full-text. CINAHL shares the MeSH subject headings with MEDLINE, so you can search these two databases together using the MeSH link (available in Advanced Search options).
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
From the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE contains a wealth of authoritative information about the health sciences and the health care system. Be aware that many of these will need to be accessed via interlibrary loan. Use the MeSH terms link (available in the Advanced Search options) for more precise results.
SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of 550 sports & sports medicine journals. Many articles relating to general nutrition concerns, in addition to sports nutrition, can be found here. Try using the "Subjects" link (available in Advanced Search options) for more precise searching.
Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials This link opens in a new window
This database is a listing of controlled trials identified by contributors to the Cochrane Collaboration. This bibliography is part of an international effort to hand search worldwide medical journals and create an unbiased source of data. Keyword searching and refining by content type, scope, etc. will serve you best here.
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews This link opens in a new window
This medical database contains some full text articles, many of which compare and synthesize the results of multiple other studies (this is called meta-analysis, and these articles are considered secondary sources). Most studies will focus on "medical interventions," such as nutrient supplementation. Keyword searching is your best bet here.

Open-Access Databases

These databases are free search tools. Some of the materials may be freely available in full-text access; you will need to use Full Text Finder or interlibrary loan to get the complete text of others.

PubMed
This site allows you to search over 22 million records. While it includes content from PubMed Central, it is more comprehensive in scope. Some material will be available in full-text access and some will be citation information only. Check our holdings through Publication Finder to see if we have access to the full text through the library's collections.
PubMedCentral
"...A free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine."

Journals Available Online

These journals are freely available online with full-text access.

Journal of Child Nutrition & Management
An open-access, peer-reviewed journal covering child nutrition and school food service management. It is published twice a year.
PLOS ONE : Public Library of Science
"An international, peer-reviewed, open-access, online publication. PLOS ONE welcomes reports on primary research from any scientific discipline."
British Medical Journal (BMJ)
Every article published since the journal's inaugural issue is available online, though recent issues are only available to subscribers.
Journal of the American Board of Family Medicine
January 1998 - present
eLife
An open-access, peer-reviewed journal that publishes research in life science and biomedicine. Founded by Nobel-winning scientist Randy Schekman.

Interlibrary Loan - Journal Article Request Form

Interlibrary Loan - Journal Article Request Form
Use this form to request articles that we don't have available in full-text or print and which cannot be found using WorldCat Discovery.