LibGuides: Storage guide: Articles

Finding a specific journal

To find a specific journal, such as The Arts in Psychotherapy, search for it in our Full Text Finder tool. Full Text Finder will link you to the appropriate database or will tell you where to find it if it is in the print periodicals collection downstairs in the library building.

Full Text Finder This link opens in a new window
To find the location of a subscription, search or browse for the journal, magazine, or newspaper title here.

Key databases

HINT: You can search in more than one EBSCOhost database at a time by clicking the "Choose Databases >>" link above the search bar.

EBSCO Mobile
If using the links below doesn't work on your iPad, try this link, and then select the database in which you want to search.

Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new window
A good general-purpose database that includes both scholarly and popular material covering virtually all subject areas. Some items are available in full text and others are indexed only. Utilize the Subject Terms button in the top bar for more precise results.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
ERIC stands for Education Resource Information Center and contains thousands of articles and documents related to education. Over 300,000 are available in full text.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
From the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE contains a wealth of authoritative information about the health sciences and the health care system. Be aware that many of these will need to be accessed via interlibrary loan. Use the MeSH terms link (available in the Advanced Search options) for more precise results.
APA PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
This database from the American Psychological Association (APA) is a collection of full-text, peer-reviewed articles in the field of psychology.
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
This database, also from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in behavioral science and mental health. Its coverage is much broader and goes farther back than PsycARTICLES, but expect to find little full-text availability in this database. Interlibrary loan will be necessary to obtain many of these sources.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This database contains information in a variety of disciplines and includes many high-quality art and music journals. JSTOR contains content dating farther back than what is available in many of our other online resources. Most content will be available in full-text access.
SAGE Premier This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to over 1,000 peer-reviewed journals covering a range of disciplines, including psychology, sociology, education, health sciences, communication, business & management, criminal justice, political science, economics, religious studies, engineering & materials science, language & cultural studies, mathematics, and more.

Google Scholar
Search for scholarly materials online using the friendly Google search box. Many articles may be available through Reeves; check Publication Finder to find out if we subscribe. Interlibrary loan is available for items not in our holdings.

Database Searching Tips

Your username and password are the same ones you use to log in to MySHU or your SHU email. If you are having login problems, please contact the Solution Center Help Desk (helpdesk@setonhill.edu or 724-830-1805).

How to search:

In EBSCOhost databases, clicking the "Peer Reviewed" box will limit your search to "scholarly" or "academic" articles.
Type a few keywords in the search box. Choose the words or phrases that best represent your research question or topic.
Use the limiter options to narrow down your results list (limit the date range, source type, etc.).

Finding the article itself (an abstract is a summary, not a source!):

Many articles are in full text; PDF format is best.
In EBSCOhost, the "Access Options" and "Access Now" buttons will link you to the full text.
If we do not have full-text access to an article you need, check our Publication Finder (the "Browse Journal Titles" tab on the library website) to see if we subscribe in print or a different database. If we don't have a subscription, you may request the article through interlibrary loan.

Beyond our collection

Interlibrary Loan - Journal Article Request Form
Use this form to request articles that we don't have available in full-text or print.

Reeves Memorial Library

Storage guide

Finding a specific journal

Key databases

Database Searching Tips

Beyond our collection

Get an Article Through Interlibrary Loan