LibGuides: Criminal Justice: Articles

Key Databases

HINT: You can search in more than one EBSCOhost database at a time by clicking the "Choose Databases >>" link above the search bar.

SAGE Premier This link opens in a new window
SAGE Journals contains a wealth of information in a wide array of disciplines. You may need to use the "advanced search" feature (available by hovering over the "search" tab) to get more precise results. Many articles are available in full-text. For articles not available in PDF full text, check Journal Finder to see if Reeves subscribes to the journal in another format.
Political Science Database This link opens in a new window
Access to hundreds of leading political science, public policy, and international relations journals. PSD also includes thousands of recent full-text doctoral dissertations on political science topics, together with working papers, conference proceedings, country reports, policy papers and other sources. Coverage: 1985 - current
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
News, business, and legal sources, including company dossiers and U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. (Formerly LexisNexis)
Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new window
A good general-purpose database that includes both scholarly and popular material covering virtually all subject areas. Some items are available in full text and others are indexed only. Utilize the Subject Terms button in the top bar for more precise results.
Exploring Race in Society This link opens in a new window
A free database specifically designed for students and faculty at the high school and college level to support dialogue on the key issues surrounding systemic racism.
APA PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
This database from the American Psychological Association (APA) is a collection of full-text, peer-reviewed articles in the field of psychology.
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
This database, also from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in behavioral science and mental health. Its coverage is much broader and goes farther back than PsycARTICLES, but expect to find little full-text availability in this database. Interlibrary loan will be necessary to obtain many of these sources.
WorldCat Discovery This link opens in a new window
Discovery is a one-search tool that will find books, ebooks, DVDs, and articles from our collection AND beyond it. Some full text materials will also have a direct link in Discovery. Also use it to place interlibrary loan requests!
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This database contains information in a variety of disciplines. JSTOR contains content dating farther back than what is available in many of our other online resources. Most content will be available in full-text access.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
ERIC stands for Education Resource Information Center and contains thousands of articles and documents related to education. Over 300,000 are available in full text.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
This database contains over 860 full-text newspapers, as well as television and radio news transcripts.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
From the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE contains a wealth of authoritative information about the health sciences and the health care system. Be aware that many of these will need to be accessed via interlibrary loan. Use the MeSH terms link (available in the Advanced Search options) for more precise results.

Open-Access (free) Databases

NCJRS Abstracts Database
"The NCJRS Abstracts Database presents bibliographic records and abstracts in a searchable format. Links to full-text online resources are provided when and where available. Most documents published by the bureaus, offices, and agencies of the U.S. Department of Justice, Office of Justice Programs, since 1995 are available in full-text online." You will find a mix of peer-reviewed and not-peer-reviewed materials in here; there is no easy checkbox, so you will need to determine which are and aren't, yourself. For materials not available for free download on the website, search in our Discovery tool and place an interlibrary loan request if necessary.