LibGuides: Cultures: Articles

Articles

HINT: You can search in more than one EBSCOhost database at a time by clicking the "Choose Databases >>" link above the search bar.

Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new window
A good general-purpose database that includes both scholarly and popular material covering virtually all subject areas. Some items are available in full text and others are indexed only. Utilize the Subject Terms button in the top bar for more precise results.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This database contains information in a variety of disciplines and includes many high-quality art and music journals. JSTOR contains content dating farther back than what is available in many of our other online resources. Most content will be available in full-text access.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
This database contains over 860 full-text newspapers, as well as television and radio news transcripts.
WorldCat Discovery This link opens in a new window
Discovery is a one-search tool that will find books, ebooks, DVDs, and articles from our collection AND beyond it. Some full text materials will also have a direct link in Discovery. Also use it to place interlibrary loan requests!

Database Searching Tips

Your username and password are the same ones you use to log in to MySHU or your SHU email. If you are having login problems, please contact the Solution Center Help Desk (helpdesk@setonhill.edu or 724-830-1805).

How to search:

In EBSCOhost databases, clicking the "Peer Reviewed" box will limit your search to "scholarly" or "academic" articles.
Type a few keywords in the search box. Choose the words or phrases that best represent your research question or topic.
Use the limiter options to narrow down your results list (limit the date range, source type, etc.).

Finding the article itself (an abstract is a summary, not a source!):

Many articles are in full text; PDF format is best.
In EBSCOhost, the "Access Options" and "Access Now" buttons will link you to the full text.
If we do not have full-text access to an article you need, check our Publication Finder (the "Browse Journal Titles" tab on the library website) to see if we subscribe in print or a different database. If we don't have a subscription, you may request the article through interlibrary loan.