Skip to Main Content

Dance

This guide will point you to the best resources for dance research.

Ebooks from Ebook Central

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
The library's ebook collection (also searchable via the library's regular catalog, HillCat).

Contemporary Choreography : A Critical Reader by Jo Butterworth (Editor); Liesbeth Wildschut (Editor)
ISBN: 9781317191582
Publication Date: 2017-12-06
Dance Movement Therapy : A Creative Psychotherapeutic Approach by Bonnie Meekums
ISBN: 9781412932967
Publication Date: 2002-01-01
Dancing from Past to Present : Nation, Culture, Identities by Theresa Jill Buckland (Editor)
ISBN: 9780299218539
Publication Date: 2007-03-19
Dancing Many Drums : Excavations in African American Dance by Thomas F. Defrantz
ISBN: 9780299173135
Publication Date: 2002-04-01
The Encyclopedia of World Folk Dance by Mary Ellen Snodgrass
ISBN: 9781442257481
Publication Date: 2016-08-08
Futures of Dance Studies by Susan Manning (Editor); Janice Ross (Editor); Rebecca Schneider (Editor)
ISBN: 9780299322434
Publication Date: 2020-01-14
Modern Bodies : Dance and American Modernism from Martha Graham to Alvin Ailey by Julia L. Foulkes
ISBN: 0807853674
Publication Date: 2002-09-09

Searching the Library Catalog

HillCat This link opens in a new window
Our library's catalog of books and ebooks

Selected dance titles from our print book collection:

Fire Under My Feet: History, Race, and Agency in African Diaspora Dance by Ofosuwa M. Abiola
Call Number: 793.3196 F52
ISBN: 9780367713331
Publication Date: 2023-05-31
Making Ballet American: Modernism Before and Beyond Balanchine by Andrea Harris
Call Number: 792.80973 H31
ISBN: 9780199342235
Publication Date: 2017-11-01
Situated Narratives and Sacred Dance: Performing the Entangled Histories of Cuba and West Africa by Jill Flanders Crosby; J. T. Torres
Call Number: 305.8963 C94
ISBN: 9781683403531
Publication Date: 2023-02-14
Why Dance Matters by Mindy Aloff
Call Number: 792.801 A45
ISBN: 9780300204520
Publication Date: 2023-01-17

Streaming Video

Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive, curated collection of over 80,000 videos covering a wide range of subjects, including history, business, counseling, education, healthcare, science, film and media studies, music, theatre, and literature. With over 18,000 exclusive titles, the collection includes a variety of content-types, such as documentaries, feature films, educational films, demonstration videos, performance recordings, and newsreels.

The following Academic Video Online collections may be helpful for dance research:

Jacob's Pillow Dance Interactive This link opens in a new window
An ever-growing collection of full-length dance videos from the Jacob’s Pillow Archives.

Return to Library Homepage | Return to All LibGuides
Reeves Memorial Library | 1 Seton Hill Dr., Greensburg, PA 15601 | 724.838.4291
© 2024 Seton Hill University