LibGuides: Exercise Science Evidence-Based Practice: Articles

Key Databases

For advanced research, it is a good idea to search EBSCOhost databases individually instead of all at once. This allows you to use the thesaurus/MeSH terms to find more precise results. Watch the video on the "Research Techniques" tab ( <--- ) for a refresher on how to use the controlled vocabulary indexes for the databases.

EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
The is the link for the entire EBSCO database collection. It is the access point to search multiple databases at the same time.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
From the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE contains a wealth of authoritative information about the health sciences and the health care system. Be aware that many of these will need to be accessed via interlibrary loan. Use the MeSH terms button in the top bar for more precise results.
CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window
CINAHL® with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 610 journals indexed in CINAHL®. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index - with no embargo. Full-text coverage dates back to 1981.
SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of 550 sports & sports medicine journals.
Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new window
A good general-purpose database that includes both scholarly and popular material covering virtually all subject areas. Some items are available in full text and others are indexed only. Utilize the Subject Terms button in the top bar for more precise results.
Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials This link opens in a new window
This database is a listing of controlled trials identified by contributors to the Cochrane Collaboration. This bibliography is part of an international effort to hand search worldwide medical journals and create an unbiased source of data. Keyword searching and refining by content type, scope, etc. will serve you best here.

Open-Access Resources

PubMedCentral
"...A free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine."
PubMed
This site allows you to search over 22 million records. While it includes content from PubMed Central, it is more comprehensive in scope. Some material will be available in full-text access and some will be citation information only. Check our holdings through Full Text Finder to see if we have access to the full text through the library's collections.
PLOS ONE : Public Library of Science
"An international, peer-reviewed, open-access, online publication. PLOS ONE welcomes reports on primary research from any scientific discipline."

DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals
Search the DOAJ and find over one million freely-available research articles in virtually every subject area. If you aren't sure whether an article you found online is from a reliable source, check for the journal here to see if it is listed.

Get it through Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan - Journal Article Request Form
Use this form to request articles that we don't have available in full-text or print.

A cautionary tale

What's the deal with birds? This magnificent scientific paper examines.