LibGuides: Lifespan Development: Articles, Journals, and Databases

Key resources

General databases:

Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new window
A good general-purpose database that includes both scholarly and popular material covering virtually all subject areas. Some items are available in full text and others are indexed only. Utilize the Subject Terms button in the top bar for more precise results.
SAGE Premier This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to over 1,000 peer-reviewed journals covering a range of disciplines, including psychology, sociology, education, health sciences, communication, business & management, criminal justice, political science, economics, religious studies, engineering & materials science, language & cultural studies, mathematics, and more.

Education:

ERIC This link opens in a new window
ERIC stands for Education Resource Information Center and contains thousands of articles and documents related to education. Over 300,000 are available in full text.

Psychology:

APA PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
This database from the American Psychological Association (APA) is a collection of full-text, peer-reviewed articles in the field of psychology.
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
This database, also from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in behavioral science and mental health. Its coverage is much broader and goes farther back than PsycARTICLES, but expect to find little full-text availability in this database. Interlibrary loan will be necessary to obtain many of these sources.

Medical/Nursing:

MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
From the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE contains a wealth of authoritative information about the health sciences and the health care system. Be aware that many of these will need to be accessed via interlibrary loan. Use the MeSH terms link (available in the Advanced Search options) for more precise results.
SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of 550 sports & sports medicine journals. Many articles relating to general nutrition concerns, in addition to sports nutrition, can be found here.

Searching for age groups in databases

The databases in the table below allow you to limit your searches to particular age groups. Usually you can do this via a checkbox option in the left-hand "Refine Results" column, as illustrated below:

The terms in RED BOLD in the table below are subject terms and will need to be typed in as part of your search.

Age Group	ERIC	MEDLINE	PsycINFO
Infant	Infants Neonates Infant Behavior/Care/Mortality	Infant, Newborn: birth-1 month Infant: 1-23 months All Infant: birth-23 months	Neonatal (birth-1 mo) Infancy (2-23 mo)
Toddler	Toddlers	Child, Preschool: 2-5 years	Preschool Age (2-5 yrs)
Early childhood	Preschool Education Kindergarten	Child, Preschool: 2-5 years	Preschool Age (2-5 yrs)
Middle childhood	Elementary Education Primary Education Specific grades (Grade 1, Grade 2, etc.)	Child: 6-12 years	School Age (6-12 yrs)
Adolescence	Junior High Schools Middle Schools High Schools Specific grades (Grade 6, Grade 7, etc.)	Adolescent: 13-18 years	Adolescence (13-17 yrs)
Emerging Adulthood	Young Adults [emerging adult*] in search box	Young Adult: 19-24 years	Emerging Adulthood
Early Adulthood	Higher Education	Young Adult: 19-44 yrs	Young Adulthood (18-29 yrs) Thirties (30-39 yrs)
Middle Adulthood	Adult Education	Middle Aged: 45-64 years	Middle Age (40-64 yrs)
Late Adulthood		Aged: 65+ years Aged, 80 and over	Aged (65 yrs & older) Very Old (85 yrs & older)
End of Life		Palliative Care Terminal Care	Palliative Care

(Many thanks to Heidi Senior at the University of Portland for the table!)

Individual Journal Subscriptions

Child & Adolescent Social Work Journal
Link to our online subscription

Other journals available online

PubMedCentral
"...A free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine."
PLOS ONE : Public Library of Science
"An international, peer-reviewed, open-access, online publication. PLOS ONE welcomes reports on primary research from any scientific discipline."

Finding a specific journal

To find a specific journal, such as the Journal of Educational and Developmental Psychology, search for it in our Full Text Finder tool. Full Text Finder will link you to the appropriate database or will tell you where to find it if it is in the print periodicals collection downstairs in the Learning Commons.

Full Text Finder This link opens in a new window
To find the location of a subscription, search or browse for the journal, magazine, or newspaper title here.