Music

Search for information on artists, songs, and styles of music.

"An index to traditional folk songs of the world with an emphasis on English-language songs. Each entry includes the song title, first line of chorus, first line of verse, and full bibliographic information on the source. The index contains over 62,000 entries and, to date indexes over 2,400 anthologies."--From the website.

"Curated by a community of music scholars, students, teachers and librarians, the Open Music Library
brings together peer-reviewed journal articles, books and music scores from the world’s digital collections."--From the website.

A guide to performing arts resources at the Library of Congress, providing information about the Library's unsurpassed collections of scores, sheet music, audio recordings, films, photographs, and other materials. Users can find digitized items from the collections; special Web presentations on topics and collections; articles and biographical essays; finding aids to collections; databases for performing arts resources; information on concerts at the Library; and a special Performing Arts Resource Guide which contains entries for hundreds of Library collections, Web sites, databases and exhibits.

A collaboration of the the Library of Congress and the American Choral Directors Association, American Choral Music provides access to significant choral music in the public domain by the leading American composers of the time

"Chopin Early Editions consist of digitized images of all scores in the University of Chicago Library's Chopin collection. Users can search or browse Chopin Early Editions via a variety of data points, including titles, genres, and plate numbers."--From the website.

Website providing free choral/vocal scores, texts, translations, and other useful information.

An online archive of digitized images of European medieval polyphonic music, captured directly from the original documents.

"The scores and libretti in this Virtual Collection include first and early editions and manuscript copies of music from the eighteenth and early nineteenth centuries by J.S. Bach and Bach family members, Mozart, Schubert and other composers, as well as multiple versions of nineteenth century opera scores, seminal works of musical modernism, and music of the Second Viennese School. Many, such as variant editions of nineteenth century operas and related libretti, fall into intellectually related sets that are meant to be seen and used together. As a group, they give scholars a window into the study of historical performance practice." Created by the Loeb Music Library at Harvard University.

The International Music Score Library Project, sharing public domain music from around the world. This wiki-style site offers over 400,000 scores and 46,000 recordings for approximately 123,000 works.

A Project of the Mozarteum Foundation Salzburg and The Packard Humanities Institute, this site provides digitized editions of most of Mozart's works in the NMA.

The Center for Popular Music makes available a wide variety of music and related materials for research and study, all available and searchable online. From original 18th-century tune books to digital files, the CPM's special collections contain all popular formats of music dissemination. Collections of music include sheet music, song broadsides, rare books and scores, and sound recordings. The CPM also collects related materials that further enable the study of popular music, such as photographs, trade catalogs, posters, playbills, and programs, periodicals, vertical files, and manuscripts.

This digitized sheet music collection is comes from a larger collection amassed and donated by businessman Charles Templeton, Sr. The collection contains close to 22,000 pieces of sheet music, including popular tunes dating as far back as 1865. Highlights include a rare copy of Scott Joplin's Cascades bearing his photograph, rare first editions of W.C. Handy's Memphis Blues and St. Louis Blues, and Confederate imprints from the Civil War era.

The Historic American Sheet Music Project provides access to digital images of 3,042 pieces from the collection of 19th and early 20th century American sheet music at the David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library at Duke University. These pieces were published in the United States between 1850 and 1920.

This sheet music collection, made available by the Music Division of the Library of Congress, contains more than 62,500 pieces of historical sheet music registered for copyright: more than 15,000 registered during the years 1820-1860 and more than 47,000 registered during the years 1870-1885. Included are popular songs, operatic arias, piano music, sacred and secular choral music, solo instrumental music, method books and instructional materials, and music for band and orchestra. The collection documents the attitudes and tastes of a bygone era with music of many varieties and sources, all of it published in the United States.

The UCLA Music Library's Archive of Popular American Music is a research collection covering the history of popular music in the United States from 1790 to the present. This online archive provides access to digital versions of the sheet music and recordings for the songs now in the public domain.

A searchable catalog of digitized sheet music in the United States collected from member institutions of The Sheet Music Consortium, including UCLA, Indiana University, Duke University, and the Library of Congress.

A list of links to a variety of websites of interest to musicologists and others performing music research.

Offers access to the Library of Congress American Memory Project's multimedia collections of early American sound recordings, sheet music, still and moving images, prints, and other materials important to American history and creativity.

Provides calculators for accidentals, intervals, chords, analyses, and matrices. Also included are a tool to help determine tempo and a pop-up piano keyboard.

Streamed audio for over 10,000 rare historic sound recordings from the collections of the Library of Congress and other contributing libraries and archives.

"An online music writing application that lets you create, view, print and hear music notation with professional quality, right in your web browser."--From the website.