LibGuides: Writing Popular Fiction: Articles

Databases

The library's databases are a great source of journal articles, magazine articles, book reviews, and other similar information sources. Many of these articles will be available in full text. The library databases most relevant to research in popular fiction are listed below:

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books, scholarly websites, and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920's and contains over 2.3 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers.
Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new window
A good general-purpose database that includes both scholarly and popular material covering virtually all subject areas. Some items are available in full text and others are indexed only. Utilize the Subject Terms button in the top bar for more precise results.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This database contains information in a variety of disciplines and includes many high-quality literature journals. JSTOR contains content dating farther back than what is available in many of our other online resources. Most content will be available in full-text access.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
ERIC stands for Education Resource Information Center and contains thousands of articles and documents related to education. Over 300,000 are available in full text.

The Science Fiction and Fantasy Research Database
"A freely available online resource designed to help students and researchers locate secondary sources for the study of the science fiction and fantasy and associated genres. These include: historical material; books; articles; news reports; interviews; film reviews; commentary; and fan writing. The database was originally compiled by Hal W. Hall, a librarian at Texas A & M University, and draws and expands upon the Science Fiction and Fantasy Reference Indexes of 1878-1985; 1985-1991; and 1992-1995."
Language & Literature
Publication Finder - Browse Journals in Reeves Library

Journals

Search Engines

Google Scholar
Search for scholarly materials online using the friendly Google search box. Many articles may be available through Reeves; check Publication Finder to find out if we subscribe. Interlibrary loan is available for items not in our holdings.