LibGuides: Music Education: Articles

Finding a Specific Journal

To find a specific publication, such as Education Week, search for it in our Publication Finder tool. Publication Finder will link you to the appropriate database or will tell you where to find it if it is in the print periodicals collection downstairs in the library building.

Full Text Finder This link opens in a new window
To find the location of a subscription, search or browse for the journal, magazine, or newspaper title here.

Music Journals
A list of our music journal and magazine subscriptions.
Special Education Journals
A list of our Special Ed journal subscriptions.

Key Databases

HINT: You can search in more than one EBSCOhost database at a time by clicking the "Choose Databases >>" link above the search bar.

iPad users: Choose EBSCO Mobile, then select the database in which you want to search.

Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new window
A good general-purpose database that includes both scholarly and popular material covering virtually all subject areas. Some items are available in full text and others are indexed only. Utilize the Subject Terms button in the top bar for more precise results.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
ERIC stands for Education Resource Information Center and contains thousands of articles and documents related to education. Over 300,000 are available in full text.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This database contains information in a variety of disciplines and includes many high-quality art and music journals. JSTOR contains content dating farther back than what is available in many of our other online resources. Most content will be available in full-text access.
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
This site allows you to cross-search multiple online music reference resources in one location. The package includes Grove Music Online, which features over 50,000 signed articles and 30,000 biographies, as well as entries from two other resources, The Oxford Companion to Music and the Oxford Dictionary of Music. You can browse your search results by source and specific era or subject category, or use the site's helpful timelines and subject guides to navigate the content.
APA PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
This database from the American Psychological Association (APA) is a collection of full-text, peer-reviewed articles in the field of psychology.
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
This database, also from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in behavioral science and mental health. Its coverage is much broader and goes farther back than PsycARTICLES, but expect to find little full-text availability in this database. Interlibrary loan will be necessary to obtain many of these sources.

Key Music Education Journals

Below is a list of recommended journals for music educators to reference. Most of these are available through the library's databases or direct online subscriptions.

Music Educators Journal (1934-present)

Journal of Research in Music Education (1953-present)

Journal of Music Teacher Education (1999-present)

UPDATE: Applications of Research in Music Education (1999-present)

Music Education Research (1999-present; Full Text Delay: 18 months)

Research Studies in Music Education (1999-present)

Action, Criticism and Theory for Music Education (2002-present)

Psychology of Music (1999-present)

Psychomusicology: Music, Mind, and Brain (1981-present)

Journals in Print

In addition to our online collections, we offer key music journals in print. The following titles are available for all listed years in our print journal collection, located in the O'Hara Room on the ground floor of the Learning Commons:

Instrumentalist (1960-2016)

Journal of Band Research (1983-2016)

Journal of Singing (1995-2016)

Reeves Memorial Library

Music Education

Finding a Specific Journal

Key Databases

Key Music Education Journals

Journals in Print

How to Request an Interlibrary Loan