LibGuides: Nutrition & Dietetics: Articles

Best library databases for food science research

Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new window
A good general-purpose database that includes both scholarly and popular material covering virtually all subject areas. Some items are available in full text and others are indexed only. Utilize the Subject Terms button in the top bar for more precise results.
SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of 550 sports & sports medicine journals. Many articles relating to general nutrition concerns, in addition to sports nutrition, can be found here.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
From the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE contains a wealth of authoritative information about the health sciences and the health care system. Be aware that many of these will need to be accessed via interlibrary loan. Use the MeSH terms link (available in the Advanced Search options) for more precise results.

TIME-SAVER: You can also search all three of the EBSCOhost databases at one time! Click this link and then select Academic Search Elite, MEDLINE, and SPORTDiscus from the list.

EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
The is the link for the entire EBSCO database collection. It is the access point to search multiple databases at the same time.

Open-access databases

These databases are free search tools. Some of the materials may be freely available in full-text access; you will need to use Full Text Finder or interlibrary loan to get the complete text of others.

MedlinePlus
Health information from the U.S. National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health-- this site is targeted to consumers, patients, and their families
PubMed
This site allows you to search over 22 million records. While it includes content from PubMed Central, it is more comprehensive in scope. Some material will be available in full-text access and some will be citation information only. Check our holdings through Publication Finder to see if we have access to the full text through the library's collections.
PubMedCentral
"...A free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine."

Journals available online

These journals are freely available online with full-text access.

British Medical Journal (BMJ)
Every article published since the journal's inaugural issue is available online, though recent issues are only available to subscribers.
eLife
An open-access, peer-reviewed journal that publishes research in life science and biomedicine. Founded by Nobel-winning scientist Randy Schekman.
Journal of Child Nutrition & Management
An open-access, peer-reviewed journal covering child nutrition and school food service management. It is published twice a year.
Journal of the American Board of Family Medicine
January 1998 - present
PLOS ONE : Public Library of Science
"An international, peer-reviewed, open-access, online publication. PLOS ONE welcomes reports on primary research from any scientific discipline."

Direct Online Subscriptions

Annual Review of Nutrition
From the publisher: "The Annual Review of Nutrition, in publication since 1981, covers the significant developments in the field of Nutrition."
Nutrition in Clinical Practice
Expand the "Full Text Access" section and then click the "Wiley Online Library" link to browse the journal archives.
The Botanical Review
Link to our online subscription to the journal

Finding a specific journal

To find a specific journal, such as Food & Nutrition Research, search for it in our subscription directory, Full-Text Finder. Full-Text Finder will link you to the appropriate database or will tell you where to find it if it is in the print periodicals collection downstairs in the library building.

For a list of nutrition journals in our library, look in the "Browse by Discipline" list. There is a category for "Nutrition & Dietetics" where you can browse our nutrition journal collection.

Full Text Finder This link opens in a new window
To find the location of a subscription, search or browse for the journal, magazine, or newspaper title here.

A few recommended journals:

Food Manufacture

Food Science & Technology International

Food Technology

International Journal of Food Science & Nutrition

Journal of Food Science

Nutrition Reviews

Reeves Memorial Library

Nutrition & Dietetics

Best library databases for food science research

Open-access databases

Journals available online

Direct Online Subscriptions

Finding a specific journal

Get an Article Through Interlibrary Loan