Postcolonial Literary Criticism

This collection covers various locations and the issues they were left with after the effect of colonialism.

This book offers a collection of essays falling under four categories: "Contesting Nations, "Multiculturalism and Diasporic Identities," "Gender and the Politics of Race," and "Postcolonial Theory." This a great resource to search through since it has many topics within each section. However, those in the "Postcolonial Theory" may be best for the beginning phases of the research process.

This is an extensive history of literary criticism, but it situates postcolonial criticism in a timeline that highlights major figures and historical movements behind the type of criticism. It also offers titles for further reading and uses works from major po-co theorists.

Harrison offers both an invitation to those unfamiliar with postcolonial criticism and a renewal of basic postcolonial ideas. By focusing on specific pieces of literature to apply the criticism, the concepts become more grounded and clear.

Similar to "A History of Literary Criticism," this book is a collection of essays studying the major movements in literary criticism. It contains a section on postcolonial criticism and suggestions for further sources.

This is a collection of ninety essays from leading names in the field of study. These works are organized into the following sections:
-Issues and Debates
-Universality and Difference
-Textual Representation and Resistance
-Postmodernism and Post-Colonialism
-Nationalism
-Hybridity
-Ethnicity and Indigenity
-Feminism and Post-Colonialism
-Language
-The Body and Performance
-History
-Place
-Education
-Production and Consumption

This anthology is not focused on postcolonial theory in regards to solely literature, but it contains key texts that provide understanding for how to use this lens in literary criticism.

This book is a type of research guide itself as it lists abundant resources and even research questions at the end of each of the three sections. Mullaney offers important background in her sections while also directing readers to more resources on sub-topics. A key book for both understanding the field of study and finding a wide range of related resources.

This consults various fields of study in order to rethink the established ways of thinking about postcolonial issues. Although many of the topics in this volume may be helpful to different research topics, pages 285-323 of the second section are focused on literature and criticism.

Over 150 terms are explained in this dictionary, and there is a lengthy references section that can also be used to find other helpful sources. This is an essential resource to research in postcolonial theory and criticism.