Artstor

Instructor privileges give users access to additional features that facilitate teaching with the Digital Library, such as uploading and managing personal collections of their own images and sharing images with others at their institutions using Institutional Folders.

To request instructor-level privileges, please email Seton Hill University's Artstor administrator, Dr. David Stanley, at: stanley@setonhill.edu.

Users with instructor privileges can use Institutional Folders to share image groups with others at Seton Hill, either using a password or without restriction.

• Generate folders of images that can be viewed by students in a particular course
• Create folders that students in your course can add to/edit themselves
• Add your own notes to images and make those notes searchable or viewable to either a restricted group of users or anyone at Seton Hill

For more information about using folders, please watch the video below.

Artstor's Browse feature includes over twenty image collections for subjects in Social Studies and the Humanities, which can be accessed by going to Browse-->Featured Groups-->Social Studies and Humanities.  These collections are intended to be inclusive, rather than comprehensive, and to act as an introduction to these subjects.  In addition to these image collections, Artstor has provided printable subject guide handouts that give an overview of the collection and key search terms.

Click on a subject guide below to view the printable handout:

• African and African-American Studies
• American Studies
• Anthropology
• Architecture and the Built Environment
• Asian Studies
• Classical Studies
• Decorative Arts
• Design
• Fashion and Costume
• History of Medicine and Natural Science
• Languages and Literature
• Latin American Studies
• Maps and Geography
• Medieval Studies
• Middle Eastern Studies
• Music History
• Native American and Indigenous Studies
• Photography
• Religious Studies
• Renaissance Studies
• Theater and Dance
• Women's Studies

To assist instructors outside the discipline of art history, Artstor has worked with faculty members and experts from around the United States to create a number of curriculum guides, which are collections of images from the Artstor Digital Library based on syllabi for college courses.  Each curriculum guide is broken down into topics or themes, each composed of approximately ten or fewer images that illustrate or support the subject.

The following curriculum guides are currently available:

• Gender in Restoration and Early 18th-Century Literature
• The Coffeehouse: English Literature and the Culture of the Public Sphere, 1660-1740
• Gothic Literature
• British Romantic Poetry
• Survey of Western Art I
• Survey of Western Art II
• Introduction to Philosophy
• Shakespeare: Text and Performance
• History of Theatre
• History of Architecture and Urbanism I
• Colonial Latin America

To access the curriculum guides:

1. Enter the Artstor Digital Library and select the Teaching Resources option listed under Browse on the left side of the page.
2. Under the Teaching Resources heading, click the plus sign (+) to the left of Curriculum Guides to open up the list of courses for which guides are available.
3. Click the plus sign (+) next to a given course name to see the list of topics and themes for that course.
4. Double-click a topic to view the images related to that topic.
5. The textual features of the curriculum guides, including course syllabi and descriptions of how the images can be used in those courses, can be accessed on the Artstor website at http://www.artstor.org/curriculum-guides.

Faculty can share Artstor content with students via Canvas or any other course website:

• Link to an individual image or image group by creating a stable URL in Artstor, then embed the URL in Canvas.
• Save an image group as a webpage, and post the link in Canvas.

Please note: These links will only work when shared with users from Seton Hill who are either on campus or logged into Artstor remotely.

For more information about sharing images, please visit the Artstor Support site.