To find a specific publication, such as Gender & Society, search for it in our Full Text Finder tool. Full Text Finder will link you to the appropriate database or will tell you where to find it if it is in the print periodicals collection downstairs in the library building.
To find the location of a subscription, search or browse for the journal, magazine, or newspaper title here.
Logging in to the databases
Your username and password are the same ones you use to log in to Griffin Gate or your SHU email. Do NOT use the "@setonhill" part of your address.
For example:
g.griffin
NOT
g.griffin@setonhill.edu
If you are having login problems, please contact the Helpdesk (helpdesk@setonhill.edu or 724-830-1805).
Articles
To find articles, search the library's databases. The full list of our databases can be accessed by clicking here.
Database searching tips
How to search:
In EBSCOhost databases, clicking the "Peer Reviewed" box will limit your search to "scholarly" or "academic" articles.
Type a few keywords in the "Find" box.
Use the narrowing options on the right and left to get more specific (limit the date range, etc.).
Finding the article itself (an abstract is a summary, not a source!):
Many articles are in full text; PDF format is best.
In EBSCOhost, "Display more details about this journal" links mean that we have a subscription, but not through EBSCO. Click the link for more information.
If we do not have full-text access to an article you need, check Journal Finder (see the 'How-To' Tutorials tab) to see if we subscribe in print or a different database. If we don't have a subscription, you may request the article through interlibrary loan.
