Meet Reeves! -- Faculty Orientation

Check out books and other library materials at the Circulation Desk on the main level of the Learning Commons with your SHU ID. You must have your ID card to borrow items, including reserve materials.

• For faculty, books are checked out until the end of the semester

• DVDs are checked out for 4 days

• Renew online by going to HillCat and clicking on your Patron Account tab. For instructions on activating your patron account, click here

• Periodicals and reference materials do not circulate

Faculty and current students with no fines or fees are not limited in the number of materials that they can borrow at one time.

Your Seton Hill ID card allows you to borrow books directly from several area academic libraries:

• St. Vincent
• University of Pittsburgh @ Greensburg
• Westmoreland County Community College

Residents are also entitled to a free library card from Greensburg-Hempfield Area Library, which is part of the Westmoreland Library Network. The public library is located downtown on Pennsylvania Avenue across the street from the Post Office.

Search our online catalog, HillCat:

• Try different keyword combinations
• If searching by title, leave off a, an, or the at the beginning of the title
• If searching by author, last name goes first (clemens, samuel)
• The "More Like This" button will help you find similar items
• If your first search is disappointing, try a broader query

When you find a book in HillCat that you want to check out, click on the "Availability" button to see where the item is and whether or not it is available. Write down or text yourself the call number. Take note of the collection (Non-Fiction, Fiction, Children's Room) and make sure that the book is available. The Children's Room is on the main Learning Commons level, while the rest of the print collection (except reserve items) is located on the lower street level.

Streaming Video

The library's streaming video collection, Academic Video Online, includes over 80,000 videos covering a wide range of subjects, including history, business, counseling, education, healthcare, science, film and media studies, music, theatre, and literature. With over 18,000 exclusive titles, the collection includes a variety of content-types, such as documentaries, feature films, educational films, demonstration videos, etc. Videos can be easily integrated into Canvas. For more information about this resource, visit our Academic Video Online Libguide.

Physical Media

Search our online catalog, HillCat:

• Limit your search to a specific format by choosing DVD, Music CD, etc. from the "Limit by" drop-down list
• Search or browse by Author to find recordings of musical works by a specific composer, or films directed by a specific director or starring a specific actor/actress.  When searching by author, last name goes first (Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus)
• Use the "Subject" option in the Browse search to find films of a specific genre (Educational films, Historical films, Musical films, Comedy films, etc.)

Nonfiction films and CDs are shelved according to Dewey Decimal Classification number.  Fiction films are shelved according to title.  Be sure to search the catalog first and write down or text yourself the call number.

WorldCat.org: The World's Largest Library Catalog

This world-wide library catalog will help you find books beyond our collection. Remember to check HillCat to see if the book is in our holdings. If you need a book that is not in our collection, you may place an interlibrary loan request.

Tips for searching WorldCat:

• Pay attention to the type of resource (book, dissertation, photo, etc.)
• Consider date and currency
• Place interlibrary loan requests for items not held at our library